Copa del Rey winners list – Which teams have won the Spanish cup?

Copa del Rey Final 2024

In total, 16 different clubs have won the Copa del Rey. The competition was first played in 1903 meaning it predates La Liga by more than two decades and the Copa del Rey winners list features some of the early powers in Spanish football as well as the giants of the modern game.

The 2024 Final will take place in April with Athletic Club the favourites according to no limit betting sites to beat Mallorca in Seville. The Basque Country has plenty of cup pedigree with clubs from the region the dominant force during the early years of the competition, however there has only been one Basque winner in the last 36 years which was Real Sociedad in the delayed 2020 Final.

copa del rey winners - Barcelona
Barcelona players before a Copa del Rey game at Espanyol in 2016 – Photo credit:

Which teams have won the Copa del Rey?

Barcelona – 31 times

Barcelona are the most successful club in Copa del Rey history with 31 titles which is 11 more than Real Madrid. They won four cups in a row between 2015 and 2018, equalling the best ever winning streak in the competition’s history.

Their most recent triumph was in the 2021 Final against Athletic Club which was played behind closed doors due to the pandemic. Lionel Messi scored twice in the game to win what would prove to be the final trophy of his illustrious Barca career.

Athletic Club – 23 times

The second most successful club in Copa del Rey history is Athletic Club. The Basque giants have won the competition 23 times but are hoping to end their longest ever winless streak this year.

Athletic were the dominant force during the early years of the Copa, winning the first two editions and they’d won 13 of their 23 titles before the Spanish Civil War which meant the competition wasn’t played in 1937 or 1938. They reached 20 by beating an all conquering Real Madrid side 2-0 at the Bernabeu in 1958 with their most recent success coming in 1984.

Copa del Rey winners list
Athletic fans before the 2015 Final in Barcelona – Photo credit:

Real Madrid – 20 times

Relative to their success in other competitions, Real Madrid have a relatively poor record in the Copa del Rey and only rank as the third most successful team.

Los Blancos have won it just three times in 30 years, the most recent success being the 2022/23 competition when they beat Osasuna 2-1 in the Final in Seville. The Andalusian city has hosted the Final since 2020 with the showpiece usually staged on neutral grounds around Spain prior to that.

Atletico Madrid – 10 times

Atletico Madrid have won the Copa del Rey ten times, most recently in the 2012/13 season when they defeated rivals Real Madrid in the Final at the Santiago Bernabeu. Perhaps their most notable success was in 1996 when Atleti beat Barca 1-0 in the Final on their way to the only league and cup double in the club’s history.

Valencia – 8 times

There have been 19 Copa del Rey Finals involving Valencia with Los Che winning eight of those, the most recent was in the 2018/19 season when they denied Barcelona what would have been a record breaking fifth title in a row. They were also 2008 winners with a star-studded team that included the likes of David Villa, David Silva and Juan Mata.

Real Zaragoza – 6 times

Real Zaragoza may be languishing in the Spanish second tier these days, but they’ve enjoyed better times and not too long ago with the Aragonese club cup finalists on three occasions in the 2000’s. They were 2001 and 2004 champions, the latter courtesy of a 3-2 Extra Time win over Real Madrid in one of the best 21st Century Copa del Rey Finals.

Sevilla – 5 times

There have been a couple of golden periods for Sevilla, the first being in the 1930’s and 1940’s when they won the Copa del Rey three times. They’d gone 45 years without even reaching the Final by the time of their appearance in 2007 when Juande Ramos led Sevilla to their fourth title with the fifth coming only three years later against Atletico Madrid in Barcelona.

Espanyol – 4 times

Espanyol were another side that challenged regularly during the early years before enjoying something of a Copa renaissance in the 2000’s. The Catalans have only appeared in two Finals since 1957, but they won them both, defeating Atletico Madrid in 2000 and Real Zaragoza in 2006.

Real Betis – 3 times

Real Betis enjoyed a dose of hometown glory when they won the 2022 Final in Seville to get their hands on the trophy for the third time. They have a 100% record in Finals since the turn of the century having also beaten Osasuna 2-1 in the 2005 Final in Madrid.

Real Union – 3 times

One of the early powers in Spanish football, Basque side Real Union were cup winners in 1918, 1924 and 1927. The Irun-based club are still around today but find themselves in the third tier, although they still occasionally give the big boys a bloody nose in the cup, famously knocking out Real Madrid 3-2 in the 2008/09 season.

Real Sociedad – 2 times

Real Sociedad have officially won the Copa del Rey twice, with those successes being in 1987 and 2020. The latter was the historic all-Basque Final between themselves and rivals Athletic Club which La Real won 1-0 in Seville.

Deportivo La Coruña – 2 times

Depor are the only club to have appeared in more than one Final without ever losing one. The Galicians were Copa del Rey champions in 1995 and 2002 during a golden age for the club. They famously defeated Real Madrid at the Bernabeu in the second of those Finals, exactly 100 years to the day that Real Madrid was founded.

Mallorca – 1 time

Mallorca are back in the 2024 Final, hoping to emulate the class of 2003 when the likes of Samuel Eto’o and Walter Pandiani fired them all the way to the trophy. The Balearic Islanders were also twice runners up during the 1990’s.

Arenas – 1 time

Arenas are a club based in Getxo, a town in the Bilbao metropolitan area. They reached four finals between 1917 and 1927, winning one of them. They rarely play in the cup these days though and haven’t been above the third tier of Spanish football since the 1940’s.

Racing Club de Irun – 1 time

Racing are one of two clubs from Irun, which is situated on the border between the Spanish and French Basque Country, to have won the Copa del Rey. They were one of two winners in 1913 when a split between federations meant two parallel competitions were staged with both officially recognised.

Club Ciclista de San Sebastian – 1 time

Club Ciclista de San Sebastian is largely viewed as the forerunner to Real Sociedad. As the name suggests, it was actually primarily a cycling club, but the football team won the Copa del Rey in 1909 with players from Real Sociedad who weren’t officially founded until later that year.

Copa del Rey Final 2024
Photo credit:

Which other teams have made the Copa del Rey Final?

The 21st Century has been a relatively open period with plenty of surprise finalists. There have been eleven different Copa del Rey winners since 2000.

A number of other teams have made the Final for the first time in the 21st Century with Alaves (2017), Recreativo Huelva (2003), Osasuna (2005 and 2023) and Getafe (2007 and 2008) all enjoying close brushes with glory.

In total, 21 clubs have finished as Copa del Rey runners up without ever winning the trophy. The most unfortunate have been Club Español de Madrid who lost three Finals between 1904 and 1910, losing the lot before dissolving a few years later.

Of clubs still active, no side has reached more Finals without winning one than Celta Vigo who were Copa del Rey runners up in 1948, 1994 and 2001.

Daniel Garcia
About Daniel Garcia 298 Articles
Daniel is a football writer based in Spain. He has an extensive knowledge of LaLiga history and closely follows current events in the Spanish top flight.